Let’s Begin with the Past in Front

October 24, 2017 – 10:58 am (local time), Antonio B. Won Pat International Airport also known as Guam International Airport, Guam – United Airlines Lounge

End of the Road

So I end this trip the way I started, in an airport lounge. Burnt illy’s cappuccino from the instant machine, salty snacks, and my thoughts, reflecting on it all. Counting this entry, I will have made 7 blog posts over 18 days of travel, not really a win. While the intent of this blog was to work on my writing chops for an audience of no one, I found developing interesting ideas into content the biggest challenge. The fact that I published seven enteries was a minor accomplishment, sharing my thoughts in a public forum was a big step for me.

On this trip, I covered some territory, over 25,000 miles in airplanes, probably 30 plus hours in a car, five countries (Hong Kong, China, Cambodia, Vietnam, and a brief stop in Japan on my way home), one US Territory, six time zones, visited with old friends (Cafen – I got your name in the blog), made some new ones, and did some work in between all of this.

I received a lot of encouragement to keep blogging and surprisingly people seemed to want to read what I have to say. I received two bits of honest feedback, which I am always open to as well…one contending I need an editor, which I totally agree (the position is currently open, although it doesn’t pay that well). The second was that I have lost any street cred that I had by calling Taco Bell “divine”. This statement of course presumes that I had street cred to begin with, which is doubtful at best. Also, I stand by the statement, in context of course, the context of fast food. The good folks a Business Insider are on my side of this eternal debate.

Next steps from here. I am setting a realistic goal for myself to continue to write and share photos, lists, and ideas in this format. I debate on whether or not to share the future updates on social media, or just let people find them organically.

The 22 hour journey home begins but I can’t wait to look for gimmicky Kit-Kats in Japan.

Deleted Scenes and Outakes

Below is a entry I never finshed from Saturday, October 22, 2017 in Guam

Diamond Member Benefits

So this was it, Stay #30 for me at a Hilton property in 2017 (my 41st night in a Hilton property), and I have once again qualified for the most elite status (Diamond Status) at worst major hotel chain in the world. As I write this, I am at the Hilton Guam Resort & Spa, staying out of my pocket, with points, 40,000 points a night (for three nights). A quick glimpse into what my Diamond status earned me during my stay in Guam. I am on 6th floor of the main tower with an ocean facing twin bed room. This hotel was clearly built in the late 1970’s or early 1980’s, my room was probably updated in the mid 2000’s. Upon check-in, I asked for an upgrade (something I never do, but hey, I am trying to push myself into discomfort, as a form of self improvement) and was rejected (upgrades are an alleged benefit of Diamond status with Hilton). (Andrew – one day, I will man-up and try the $20 bill trick you taught me years ago.) My room came with four complimentary San Pellegriono Limonata bottles, which could quite possibly the great drink on the entire planet and a free mini Woodbridge Merlot 2015 bottle (which I am drinking as I write this). Another win, complimentary hotel Internet access (which is normally $15 a day and spotty). Finally, complimentary access to the Lounge for free breakfast and Happy Hour. The breakfast was a basically the same as you would receive at a Hampton Inn, consisting of runny eggs, bacon, hash browns, and some random lunch meet, basic fruits, yogurt and about three types of bread, coffee, juice and some milk. As hotel lounges in Asia go, this was decidedly underwhelming. The Happy Hour felt included free wine, beer, or mixed drinks (but access was very limited) and some very light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages. First world problems I know. Here is a view from my room, stunning right?

20171021_145431.jpg

Below is my ranking (#1 was the best) of the hotels I stayed in during my 2017 Asia trip (18 total nights), based on the room, gym, breakfast (I had free breakfast at each property), location, and overall impressions:

  1. Park Hyatt – Siem Reap Cambodia (3 nights – $260 a night)
  2. Intercontinental – Ho Chi Minh City (2 nights – $229 a night)
  3. Shangri La – Kowloon, Hong Kong (2 nights – $300 a night)
  4. JW Marriott – Haungzhou, China (1 night – $190 a night)
  5. Marriott – Ningbo, China (3 nights – $120 a night)
  6. Hilton Guam Resort and Spa (3 nights – $150 a night)
  7. Hilton Garden Inn, Mongkok, Hong Kong (3 nights – $220 a night)
  8. United Airlines – red-eye from Hong Kong to Guam (1 night – free)

Hilton, you really need to up your game in Asia (and around the world). #Weaksauce #SlaveToThePoints

Still I can’t escape the ghost of you

I should just pause here – I have been obsessing over the song Ordinary World by Duran Duran today, not sure why, but get into it!

The Flower of Life

Published by

asymmetricallife

Philosopher, world traveler, helpless romantic, seeking their personal legend.

Leave a comment